Chocolate Walnut Fudge (Vegan)

This recipe comes from one of my ultimate favorite cookbooks:

Jónsi & Alex’s Good Heart Cookbook, a raw vegan recipe collection by two wonderful musicians!

Jónsi & Alex’s cookbook features an array of treats like a superfood smoothie, Thai  coconut curry, raw apple pie (that happens to be my most famous Thanksgiving recipe) and a handful of dips and sauces. Their desserts are killer, and focus around naturally sweet ingredients like dates, coconut, agave and cacao powder.

If you don’t eat this fudge, I highly suggest their Nammi Nammi dessert. My family can attest to the fact that I have made that recipe . . . close to ten times. In two years. Without fail. THREE INGREDIENTS AND IT’S THE TASTIEST THING EVER.

With this fudge being the second tastiest. !

– – –

Chocolate Walnut Fudge

•3 cups walnuts

•2 cups coconut (I used shredded unsweetened)

•1/2 cup cacao or cocoa powder

•1/3 vanilla bean, or 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

•3/4 cup Light agave nectar

•a pinch of salt

 Blend the walnuts using a food processor until they’re not a fine powder, but still very small bits. Place in a large bowl and the blend the coconut. Mix it together in the bowl with your hands.

Add the other ingredients and then flatten the fudge out in a pan, refrigerating for at least one hour. Last, cut into rectangles. Last last, enjoy until your sweet little vegan tummies can’t contain the joy.

*A note about vanilla: My mother purchased this Mexican vanilla extract at least four years ago and I am still using it in my baking/dessert making/.. okay, who am I kidding, I put vanilla in almost everything sweet.

That’s because Mexican vanilla is packed full of flavor, and, as you can see, won a medal of recognition for it’s awesomeness. A quality vanilla like this one can make your dishes extra delicious. If you happen to stumble upon some as wonderful as this – grab it. You won’t regret* it.

*A note about regret: You may regret eating over five pieces of this fudge, like someone I know, who is deeefinitely not me, did last night.

(And one or two more today with my lunch.

Worth it.)

Nom-aste!

Shelby

3 responses

  1. This looks soooo good. I am going to have to check out this cookbook. I had never heard of it. Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog. Love your blog and all your recipes. Let me know when you sugar free the vegan graham cracker walnut pralines. I’d like to try them your way.

Leave a Reply

